Guest Blog: Twiga

Hey all, Twiga here.  That’s right, it’s me, the new cat.  I’ve decided to make the dog let me tell my side of the story, but I don’t know how to use one of these fancy computer machines, so I’m dictating and he’s typing, but trust me, these are MY words.

It’s me, Twiga

Where to begin?  Like many African dogs and cats, I found myself homeless, sick, and hungry.  I wandered around Mwanza searching for a place to make my permanent residence, but the streets here can be harsh for a cat like me.  Eventually, I made my way to Isamilo, where many mzungus live.  I figured mzungus were my best bet for survival since they tend to be more sympathetic to the plight of animals than Tanzanians.

I spent about a week investigating my options in Isamilo.  I researched the trash outside the homes, and watched who went in and out trying to determine which house was most likely to take me in and care for me.

Wednesday was the big day.  I had chosen the pretty pink house with 2 yellow-haired mzungu girls.  During the afternoon, while everyone was away I climbed in through the gutter from the trash alley behind the house.

The back alley from whence I came

The gutter: entrance to my new home

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once inside, all I had to do was wait.  What I hadn’t factored into the equation was this:

Tito

But when you’ve arrived at this paradise, any obstacle can be overcome:

The paradise I wandered into, NEVER LEAVING

Turns out, the dog actually alerted the humans to my presence and as I suspected they fell for my cuteness and I was immediately brought inside for some food and a cleaning.  I’m not a fan of getting wet, but I knew there were certain discomforts I’d have to withstand in order to be accepted into the household.

I honestly can’t believe my good luck.  I never expected my plan to go as well as it has.  I mean, these people, they gave me my own room, with a nice bed in it.

My bed

My very own room

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

They also make me homemade meals every day and give me all the food I could ever want.  It’s like they actually CARE about nutrition!  They make me a mixture of rice, milk, carrots, and little fish.  I won’t be skinny and sick for long on this new diet.  They even give me water from a special container so I don’t have to drink water from a puddle or from the faucet.  These people, they think of everything!

My water comes from here

Every time is meal time now!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now, about that dog.  He’s actually not so bad.  And I know the humans like me more because I get along with the dog.  He’s not the brightest animal I’ve ever met, but darn it, he’s loyal and protects his family, which is more than I can say for any dog I’ve ever met before in my life.  So, to all you cats and dogs who said I’d never make, LOOK AT ME NOW!

My watchdog

Me and my new bro

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Guest Blog: Twiga

  1. Mary Sutterby

    Twiga, you have found a nice family and I am soooooo happy for you ! A cute little dog makes a nice bro too. I expect you will be filled out to a nice size in no time at all with all that nutritious food.

  2. gramn

    Twiga, You’re a smart little kitty as you certainly picked the right house. A little black kitty recently picked us but NoSe’ and Hickory aren’t as nice as Tito and keep putting him up a tree. Then Grandpa has to rescue him. They think all cats belong in the barn as mouse control. I hope he soon learns that!!!

  3. Twigs you are so cute! We need to get you a collar. I’m not cat savvy, but how can your family prevent that you run away? But why would you? Congrats on finding such an amazing and loving family!

    • I think I’m pretty happy right where I am, plus I’m still not strong enough to run away, and you’re right, why would I???

  4. Looks like they are about the same size!! Cute too. So will Twiga become Tito’s “therapy” cat??

  5. Pingback: Guest Blog: Twiga “Coming to America” | titotravels

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

