Goodbye Hintons

As I mentioned yesterday, it’s leaving season in Mwanza and the next group to follow Mr. Marcel was the Hinton family.  I first met John Hinton at the National Institute of Medical Research (NIMR) when I was there to eat lunch with my mom.  NIMR is where my mom works every day and they also have a canteen there, which is how we all got to know John.  The first thing he said when he saw me was that he would like to take my leash, which was connected to my red halter, and whip me around in a circle for fun.  That sounded cool to me, but mom vetoed this idea and John may have been kidding anyway!

John worked at a place called Bridge 2 Aid.  This organization helps people in Tanzania who don’t have access to dental care.  Specifically, John worked in the community helping to organize income generating activities like sewing.  I think this is a great idea and would love to buy some custom-made couture dog clothes in Tanzania!  Here’s a photo of John playing guitar at his going-away party:

John Hinton, playing guitar

I met John’s son Jimi in Mombasa when I went to support the Mwanza Tossers frisbee team while they played in a tournament.  Jimi worked at a place called Forever Angels Baby Home.  Forever Angels is a home for orphaned and abandoned babies.  It’s so great that these little cuties get so much loving and care at Forever Angels!  Here’s a photo of Jimi, and his awesome mohawk, at the frisbee tournament in Mombasa:

Jimi’s awesome mohawk

Of course John and Jimi couldn’t leave Mwanza without a big party for all of their friends and I was lucky enough to be personally invited to the Hintons’ going-away party.  I think John likes me 😉

So many people showed up to say goodbye to the Hintons

I wore my special Maasai scarf, styled fashionably by mom for the occasion:

I think I’m looking pretty fiiiiiine

There was lots of yummy food and great entertainment at the party.  First, John and Jimi and their band, The Mosquitoes, played some songs for us.

John on guitar and Jimi on drums

Watching The Mosquitoes play

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After the music, John decided to unveil his new magic trick.  This was all so exciting for me since I’ve never seen a live band or a magician!  The magic trick involved an imaginary deck of cards, which I didn’t really understand, but the crowd seemed wowed by it and so I was impressed too.

John performing his magic trick with Austin

Watching the magic trick with Aunt Amanda

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The whole party was so much fun that it made me even more sad that the Hintons were leaving, but I guess that’s just how things work here in Mwanza.  Mom and I are here for another full year, so I’m just going to have to get used to saying goodbye 😦

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

