Being a Baby in Tanzania

I never really knew about human babies before Agatha came back into my life.  About a month after mom and I arrived in Tanzania, our house girl Agatha left to have a baby and Anna took her place while she was gone.  But recently, Agatha has been back at our house and now she brings a young girl and her new baby every day.  I’m learning so much about human babies that I never knew before!

Meet Jonas!

First, human babies are totally helpless.  This baby, Jonas, he just lays around all day or is strapped onto the back of his young caregiver.  Seriously, he can’t talk or walk or feed himself!

This is how Jonas spends 90% of his day

Lucky for me, Agatha loves me so she lets me explore her baby, which I’m sure would never happen with any other Tanzanian babies, so I’m going to take every opportunity to learn about human babies!

Checking him out

This tiny baby, who I’m told is almost 3 months old, has so many interesting smells!  Agatha feeds him milk, so his breath smells of warm milk.  Also, since human babies are so helpless they don’t know how to go to the bathroom and this is obvious if you get near his bottom end!  Mom says that they don’t use disposable diapers in Tanzania, but instead they just use a cloth, wash it when it gets dirty, and then re-use it again.

Getting a whiff of ‘baby’

Apparently, the US is much different when it comes to human babies.  Most women can’t take their babies to work, so I guess Agatha is lucky because she gets to have a good job and be with her baby all day.  This means I’m also lucky because I’m no longer the youngest one in the house and I get to explore Jonas too! Also, Jonas hardly ever cries, which mom tells me is rare.  I think it’s probably because he is always strapped to someone’s back so he doesn’t ever get lonely.  I know I’d probably never cry if I was always strapped to my mom or Aunt Amanda.

I’m hoping that as Jonas gets older he’ll start to be a little more interesting and maybe even able to play with me!  For now, I’m content to play near him as he checks me out 🙂

Just a Friday in Tanzania

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Being a Baby in Tanzania

  1. Mary Sutterby

    Lucky you Tito, having a human baby for a companion.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

