Binti Maringo

It’s not easy to find a proper breakfast in Mwanza, or brunch or lunch for that matter either.  However, there is one exception, Binti Maringo.  On Sundays, mom and Aunt Amanda like to have brunch at Binti Maringo Restaurant with their friends and I’m always excited to tag along and try out some new foods as well.

What’s nice about Binti’s, as we call it for short, is that it’s a nice walk from our house in Isamilo.  It’s not so close that I don’t get to run off all my energy, but it’s not so far that I’m completely tuckered out when I arrive.  On this particular morning, me, mom, and Aunt Amanda set off for Binti’s around noon.

C’mon mom, Aunt Amanda and I are ready to go!

As I said, the walk is pretty awesome, and not just because it’s the perfect distance.  I also get to see my favorite animal: COWS!!

Oh god, so excited, COWS!

Hey cow!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You know what else is pretty awesome?  Binti’s is about more than just great food, it also does good in the community.  The restaurant is located on the grounds of the Kuleana Street Children Center and helps to support street children and their families.  You can read more about the center and their activities here: http://www.mirpace.org/kuleana.htm.

Inside Binti’s

Outside Binti’s with mom

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, back to the fantastic food!  Binti’s has awesome breakfast choices like crepes, omelets, and even a full English breakfast.  They’ve also got freshly made juices, and my mom’s personal favorite: fresh passionfruit juice!  On top of all that, Binti’s is one of the few places in Mwanza to serve proper coffee and cappuccinos, which is a big treat for mom and Aunt Amanda.

Today, mom and Aunt Amanda decide they need some vegetables, so I decide to help them choose their meals.

Perusing the menu

Aunt Amanda decides on the tuna salad, while mom and I decide we’ll share a hummus salad.  Mom thinks I need some fiber in my diet since I’ve had some digestive issues lately, and I can’t disagree with her.  So, we all sit and patiently wait for our food.

I’m learning how to be really good at waiting here in Tanzania

And we keep on waiting, which is a common thing at restaurants here in Tanzania.  I guess it’s part of their culture or something, this waiting thing, but neither mom nor I are very good at it.  Finally the food comes and it is delicious!  There’s homemade hummus, and tons of fresh cucumbers, black olives, tomatoes, and lettuce and even a freshly baked soft tortilla on the side.  Mom loves black olives so she hogs them all, but the rest we share, YUMMY!

Digging in

So, who’s up for brunch next Sunday??

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Binti Maringo

  1. Mary Sutterby

    Tito , my daughter loves that kind of food, esp. humuus. She also loves Cilantro and I HATE it, the smell of it actually made me nauseous today when she was cutting up about a GALLON of it today. Where do you stand on that stuff?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

