TanFoam Problems

TanFoam is a common mattress company in Tanzania and is the cause of much pain for both me and my mom.  Their motto is, “Welcome to our world of comfort”(http://www.tanfoam.com), but this weekend all mom and I experienced was discomfort.

Me in mom's bed

This weekend mom and I were both disabled thanks to her bed.  Mom has been having back problems because her foam bed is too soft.  I see her walking around in pain and I hate that there’s nothing I can do to help her.  Then, on Saturday night, somehow, I fell off the edge of the bed.  I’ve never done that before and it was pretty embarrassing.  One moment I was sleeping and the next, I’m on the floor.  Mom laughed at me because she didn’t realize that I landed on my foot funny and I didn’t want her to worry so I just went back to bed.

In the morning when I woke up I couldn’t walk on my foot, so I was hopping around like a tripod dog.  Mom decided to play doctor and cut a piece of fabric off a Delta Airlines blanket, wrapped it around my leg, and secured it with a safety pin and some clear tape.  All day I rested and hopped around with my makeshift cast.  I got lots of sympathy from Aunt Amanda, mom, Marcel, and Annabelle because of my condition.

My makeshift cast

Luckily, today I’m all better, but mom still hurts.  I’m hoping she’ll go out and get a new mattress this afternoon and avoid the TanFoam this time!  Or maybe I can even convince her to purchase a Tanfopedic bed instead!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “TanFoam Problems

  1. Gram

    Poor Baby and poor mama. Tell mama sometimes a sheet of plywood under the mattress works. Do they have plywood in Tanzania?? Gram

  2. Pingback: Tanzania Perks « titotravels

  3. Pingback: Africa is Home « titotravels

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

