I met Madaraka Nyerere!

Yesterday was a really special day for me because it was the first time I met someone famous!  Here’s what happened: On the way home from Musoma (more about that trip in an upcoming blog entry), Marcel suggested that we stop in Butiama to see the home of Julius Nyerere, the first President of Tanzania.  Marcel is a little obsessed with Julius Nyerere, so mom and I agreed that it could be a fun visit.

Butiama, Tanzania

We arrived at the Nyerere compound in Butiama, but Marcel said I had to stay in the car because the site was too sacred for a puppy like me in case I had an accident somewhere special.  I was sad to be left behind, but I could kind of understand his point because sometimes I just can’t control myself.  Anyway, the time in the car gave me a chance to learn a little more about Julius Nyerere and his son Madaraka Nyerere, who lives there in Butiama.  Here’s what I learned from wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Julius_Nyerere):

Julius Nyerere was born in Butiama to a man named Nyerere Burito.  I was excited about this because sometimes my mom and Aunt Amanda call me Tito Burrito, so that means I have something in common with the “Baba wa Taifa”, or The Father of the Nation!  Julius Nyerere’s son lives in Butiama now and he has his own blog, like me: http://madarakanyerere.blogspot.com/.  Another interesting thing I learned about Madaraka is that he has climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro with Idi Amin’s son.  That’s like George W. Bush climbing a mountain in Afghanistan with Sadam Hussein’s son, which I can’t imagine ever happening!  That’s what makes Madaraka Nyerere so cool in my eyes.

Madaraka and Idi Amin's son on top of Kilimanjaro

Because mom made me stay in the car, I didn’t think I’d actually get to meet Madaraka Nyerere, but as they were leaving, he approached the car.  I was so incredibly excited to meet a celebrity that I just couldn’t control myself and I ended up peeing a little in the car.  But anyway, how many dogs can say that they met the son of the father of modern Tanzania!  I am one lucky puppy!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “I met Madaraka Nyerere!

  1. Mary Sutterby

    Tito, you are one lucky dog, happy travels !

  2. Gram

    Tito, What an exciting life you have! You should write a book. 🙂

  3. Madaraka Nyerere

    It is always nice to hear some positive feedback from visitors.

  4. Gram, a book is definitely an option!
    Madaraka, Thanks for checking me out, I hope to meet you again before I leave your beautiful country 🙂

  5. Masija Buchafwe

    Travelling is the best way of learning and collecting ideas. Bravo Titto

  6. Pingback: It’s My One-Year Blogging Anniversary « titotravels

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

